President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday reminisces on how the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu escaped the electoral massacre plotted by the former President, Olusegun Obasanjo in 2003.
The President, speaking in Lagos at the Public Presentation of the new autobiography of the former Osun State Governor and APC National leader, Chief Bisi Akande, noted that while the political heist swept away all the Governors of the then Action For Democracy, AD, including Akande, only Tinubu survived.

“It is a common knowledge that Akande was the victim – along with other AD Governors – of a diabolical double-cross which ended his gubernatorial career. Only the steadfast Asiwaju Bola Tinubu escaped the electoral massacre masterminded by President Obasanjo,” Buhari stated in his terse address at the Public Presentation of the book titled “My Participations” held at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

”Desperately disappointed though he was, and being a good Muslim, he accepted this setback as part of the trials of life. He looked to the future of service to the country,” the President added while eulogising the celebrant.

In 2003, President Obasanjo led his party, PDP to clinch all Southwest states which was originally held by the defunct AD excluding Lagos State.

Other personalities who graced the occasion were Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu; Governor of Osun State, Adegboyega Oyetola; Governor of Kwara State, Abdulraham Abdulrasak; Governor of Yobe State, Mai-Mala Buni; Governor of Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun; Senate President, Dr. Ahmed Lawan, and Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa.

Also in attendance were Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, who was represented by his son; Governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Ganduje, represented by his deputy, Nasir Yusuf Gawuna; Former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Enitan Ogunwusi.

Others include Senator Tokunbo Abiru, Senator Solomon Adeola, representing Lagos Senatorial West, Opeyemi Bamidele, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon, Senator Tokunbo Afikuyomi, members of the Lagos State Executive Council, and Executives of Bola Ahmed Tinubu supporters Group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *