The vacant stool of Orimolusi of Ijebu Igbo in Ijebu North Local Government Area of Ogun State has been filled with the election of Prince Lawrence Jayeola Adebajo.

Adebajo emerged the Orimolusi-elect having polled six out of 10 votes during the election held at the secretariat of the local government, on Tuesday. He defeated his major contender, Prince Soliu Sadiku, who had four votes.

Tribune Online gathered that the Orimolusi-elect, born 69 years ago, would succeed the late Oba Sani Adetayo, who joined his ancestors in May 1994.

It will be recalled that 11 warrant chiefs were inaugurated by the Chairman of the Local Government, Mr Bolaji Odusanya, on the advise of the state Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs to commence the process of filling the stool.

The warrant chiefs was headed by Professor Ademola Adedeji with Professors Yinka Balogun, Kola Balogun, Layi Ogunkoya, Chief Ademola Okusanya, Chief P. O. Omotara, Professor Bisi Ogunfowora, Mr. Olusegun Olusanya, Professors B. Obigbesan, Ayo Ogunye as members while Mr. Fatai Bolujo served as Secretary.

They were given 14 days within inauguration to submit report.

However, the Ogun State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Mr Afolabi Afuape, in an interview with the Tribune Online, confirmed that a new Orimolusi of Ijebu Igbo has emerged.

Afuape said he had not got detail information on the development, adding that “someone has emerged as the Orimolusi of Ijebu Igbo.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *